25 Bookish Things about Me

1
I saw this on Bang Bang Book Blog so let’s give this a go!

  1. I have been reading since before I could actually read. My mom loves to tell stories of me crawling out of my bed as a small toddler to sit behind the rocking chair in my room with a pile of picture books. Reading was one of the first things I knew I loved.
  2. Despite how much I love to read, my friends and family don’t really give me books for Christmas and/or my birthday… hmm.
  3. IMG_3159In 5th grade, my teacher read Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine to us during reading time and I fell in love with it. I have read the book every year of my life since then and still love it. My copy is falling apart… (see photo).
  4. I have read every one of Jane Austen’s book at least once. I have read Pride and Prejudice 15 times.
  5. My senior thesis was a psychoanalytical critique of Pride and Prejudice.
  6. I currently own six copies of Pride and Prejudice, and I’m not stopping there!
  7. I love reading nonfiction, specifically biographies (Coco Chanel and Queen Elizabeth the First are some of my favorite ladies to read about).
  8. I don’t really care about ratings. If I think a book sounds interesting, I’ll read it regardless of ratings.
  9. My book shelf takes up an entire wall in my living room… and it still doesn’t hold all of the books that I own.
  10. I love retellings!
  11. I’m not sure if I have a “favorite author.” There are certainly authors that I favor more than others, but I can’t pick just one as a favorite.
  12. I am a paying member of the Jane Austen Society of North America…. The love is real.
  13. I announced my engagement by posting photos of my ring inside of books.
    208236_10150445000315085_5094199_n-2
  14. I like realistic endings… not over the top happy endings (unless it makes logical sense to the plot).
  15. I used to be one of those readers that could read several books at once, but now I have to finish one book before I start another… I’m not sure what happened there.
  16. My husband is as much of a reader as I am. However, we read the exact opposite things. He likes politics and science and I read mostly YA because of my job.
  17. My favorite place to read is in my bed surrounded by pillows and my cats with a big cup of rooibos tea. 10176113_10155207551400085_6774002602944959743_n
  18. Sophie Kinsella is my guilty-pleasure author…
  19. My least favorite genre is YA realistic fiction… I am just not that into it.
  20. One of the best days of my bookish-life was when I got to attend a a luncheon in Chicago celebrating the release of An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. I was even seated next to her at the lunch!
  21. Mary E. Pearson, author of the Kiss of Deception series, listens to the weekly podcast that I host with Dawn over at Bang Bang Book Blog.
  22. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater is my favorite YA series of all time. Hands down, it has the best characters, plot, and everything in between!
  23. The saddest thing that someone can say to me is that they “don’t read”… (Sure, there are sadder things, but let’s be serious… that’s pretty sad).
  24. I’ve tried getting in to graphic novels. I totally see the appeal and think they’re great reading tools, but I haven’t been able to get hooked.
  25. Scrolling through upcoming book releases on Goodreads is my ideal Friday night… and reading of course.
Leave a Reply

