The Christmas Tag

We’re gonna switch things up a little today! Christmas is by far my favorite time of the year. Everything is so beautiful with all of the lights and trees and snow! Although we seem to be a little short on the snow this year…

What’s your favorite Christmas movie?

p12873_p_v7_aaI have several so I’ll just name a few. The first is The Nutcracker Prince, a relatively obscure children’s movie from 1990 (with Kiefer Sutherland voicing the Nutcracker Prince). I love this movie because it fills in the gaps of the Nutcracker story and really made things come alive for me when I was a child. It’s still something I watch to this day. Lucky for me, someone uploaded the whole thing to Youtube… Second is The Nightmare Before Christmas! Who doesn’t love Jack Skellington and his existential crisis!? He is one of the best characters every created. I love that he can recite Shakespearean quotations… I also really really love The Santa Clause with Tim Allen.

Do you open presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?

I have a rather large family so we would usually celebrate Christmas Eve with my dad’s side of the family. So we would have opened gifts from that side of relatives and then opened the gifts from my mom and dad on Christmas morning.

Do you have a favorite Christmas memory?

I remember when I was about 10 or 11 my grandma, Mimi, stayed with us for an extended period of time during the holiday season. It was just comforting having another family member around during this really happy time. She passed away a few years later, so the memories I made with her during her stay with us are really special to me. 11204393_10156343934620085_9000044875785153438_n

Favorite Christmas food?

Ugh, so many favorites…Homemade sugar cookies that we would decorate as a family, the amazing chicken that my other grandma, Nana, would make on Christmas Eve, the fruit salad my mom would make on Christmas morning, my dad’s scrambled eggs. I cannot chose!

Favorite Christmas gift?

Naturally, any time I received books, I was a very happy person. But one year stands out to me more than others. I must have been about 12, but one year my mom and dad made me an antique-styled vanity table for my room, complete with a mirror that lit up. I felt absolutely spoiled. (Link is an example of what it looked like.)

Favorite Christmas scent?

We always had a fake tree growing up, so I’ve come to associate other smells with Christmas, like cinnamon and vanilla.

Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?

Nowadays, we spend Christmas Eve with my family and Christmas day with my husband’s family. On the Eve, we have a huge dinner, usually watch a movie, play games, and share gifts. 12308289_10156344275240085_1009705596543109176_n

What tops your tree?
A huge golden ribbon that cascades down the sides of the tree. That’s my tree this year to the right!

As a kid what was the one (crazy, wild, extravagant) gift you always asked for and never received?

A golden retriever…

What’s the best part about Christmas for you?

The beauty of it all: the music, lights, time off of work (haha) and more time spent with family and friends.

I tag anyone who wants to do this tag! Have fun with it! 

Leave a Reply

