Waiting on Wednesday: Most Exciting 2016 YA Releases

As I sit on my couch with my MacBook on my lap, the rain is pelting the windows behind me. At a time when snow is usually on the ground, the rain makes me look towards spring. I’m possibly being hasty, but 2016 is right around the corner and that means a whole new year of great YA releases.

I was reviewing my Goodreads today and realized just how many great books are being published this year. With each passing year, the YA genre at large is continuing to expand and grow into something magnificent. So here are the YA novels with Spring 2016 release dates that I’m looking forward to (in order of publishing date):

23688792

 

These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas

Published February 9th, 2016

Being hailed as Jane Austen meets X-Men (I have no idea how they’re going to pull that off), Masks is set in 1882 Victorian London where our protagonist, Evelyn, is bored to tears. But when her sister, Rose, goes missing, Evelyn strikes out with the dashing Mr. Kent to find her. Secrets are unearthed, strange tales are proven true, and Evelyn realizes that she and her sister are in more danger than she initially realized.

25897792

Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor 

Published March 1st, 2016

I love me some good ol’ time traveling historical fiction. Into the Dim follows Hope Walton, a shattered sixteen year old that has just lost her mother. So when she agrees to spend her summer in Scotland, she’s surprised to learn that her mother had secrets of her own. When Hope finds herself in 12th century Scotland, rubbing elbows with the likes of Eleanor of Aquitaine, her only hope is to find her mother and restore life to how it used to be. But how can she, when she realizes that her future is in the past?

24934065Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Published March 8th, 2016

Amani dreams of escaping the dead-end town of Dustwalk. Counting on her sharpshooting skills to blow dodge, Amani finds herself in danger, riding away with a handsome stranger on a mythical horse. Her life seems to have gone from zero to sixty overnight. But with the Sultans murderous army on their heels, Amani must unlock the secret of who she really is, or wind up dead.

22055480

 

Save Me, Kurt Cobain by Jenny Manzer

Published March 8th, 2016

What if you had reason to believe that Kurt Cobain, immortalized lead of the 90’s rock band Nirvana, was not only alive but could possibly be your father?

I’m really excited about this book because I love Cobain’s music and his death, even today, is still surrounded by such mystery.

25528801

 

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnson 

Published March 15th, 2016

I’ve talked about this book several times already on this blog so I won’t bore you any more with those details. It’s a contemporary retelling of Shakespeare’s The Winter’s Tale with a hint of Veronica Mars thrown in. I’m really excited for it!

 

18629735

 

The First Time She Drowned by Kerry Kletter

Published March 15th, 2016

This novel has some serious We Were Liars vibes and is already getting hype.

Cassie O’Malley has spent the last two and a half years trying to stay afloat. When her mother dumped her into a mental institution for something she didn’t do, she has struggled to find her way forward. Now, with college prospects looming on the horizon, Cassie longs to start anew and live life her way. But when her childhood and unhealthy past threaten to pull her under, Cassie must decide her own truth.

20443235

 

The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski 

Published March 29th, 2016

I’m a huge fan of this series and I absolutely cannot wait for the finale installment in this series! I also really love the new covers that they’ve put on the books. This is the last book in the series and I cannot wait to see what Rutkoski weaves through her novel for Kestrel and Arin.

17378527

 

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Published on April 26th, 2016

What started as an interesting, history-laden romance soon blossomed into a sweeping epic of long-lost kings, mysterious futures, and powerful dreamers. I cannot wait for the finale in this series. I feel like I have to wait forever for this one!

 

25203675

 

The Star-Touched Queen by Rouhani Chokshi

Published May 3rd, 2016

I am looking forward to this novel because it’s from a diverse debut author with a really unique twist on Indian mythology. Amani, the protagonist, sounds like she’s the makings of a new generation of kick-ass heroines.

 

17927395

 

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Published on May 3rd, 2016

ACMF is the second installment in the Court of Thorns and Roses series. The first novel packed quite a punch- hot Fae men, a clever heroine, and quite possibly the best Beauty and the Beast retelling yet. This might be the book I’m most excited for next year!

 

 

One thought on “Waiting on Wednesday: Most Exciting 2016 YA Releases

Leave a Reply

