December TBR Pile

I don’t know about you, but I failed miserably on my Goodreads Reading Challenge. My goal was to read 100 books this year and sadly, I didn’t meet that benchmark. So this month, my plan is to get a leg-up on Spring 2016 YA and knock some out of the park before the year begins. There are some great YA novels coming out in 2016! Here’s a peek into what I’m reading this month:

19542841

More Happy than Not by Adam Silvera

I’m reading this book for two reasons. Reason number being that my friend has not stopped raving about this book for months (and she never enjoys contemporary fiction this much…). She about lost her stuff when Adam Silvera randomly showed up to an author visit for Julie Murphy a few months ago. Reason number two is because it’s a pick for a Mock Printz discussion group I’m attending next week with other librarians in the Chicago suburbs.

In all honesty though, it sounds really compelling; it mixes contemporary fiction with a bit of sci-fi. I’m ready for this!

21979832

 

The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

There’s a sub-category of fantasy that I absolutely love: pirates! I first read Pirates! by Celia Rees when I was in middle school and fell head over heels with the adventure, danger, and intrigue of the seas. So when I saw the buzz on Twitter about this novel about a time-traveling pirate crew, I had to request it on Edelweiss!

This book claims to pack a bold punch with its unique story line, diverse set of characters, and deeply researched history.

18044277

The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma

Published in March of 2015, I’m a little late to the party for this one, but it’s another book that is a possible Printz Award contender. Plus, author Sabaa Tahir gave it five stars on Goodreads!

This novel follows three young women whose lives are linked through a dark connection. Violet is a dancer who is on the edge of achieving her dreams, but whose happiness is challenged when her secrets are threatened to be exposed. Amber has been in juvie so long that she doesn’t even know what her life will look like once she’s out, and Orianna connects the two teens in a strange way. What really happened with these three girls and what dark ties bind them?

24795912

Worlds of Ink and Shadow by Lena Coakley

Imagine a world where the Brontë siblings can physically inhabit their own stories! This fascinating novel explores the vivid imaginations of all four Brontë siblings: Branwell, Charlotte, Emily, and Anne. Each is able to transport themselves into the world of their own making, but what happens when their characters refuse to let them go?

Based on the works of their juvenilia, Worlds of Ink and Shadow re-imagines one of the worlds most talented literary families.

 

 

***

What’s on your to-read list for December? I am looking forward to hopping around the blogosphere to see what other book bloggers are reading this month.

 

Leave a Reply

