Top Ten Tuesday: It’s OK to be a Quitter

Source

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is 10 bookish things I want to quit or have quit. I’m going to pick a few books I’ve had to DNF as well as some bad habits I’d like to quit as a reader.

10507293

173031391. Series I Quit: The Selection Series by Keira Cass

Honestly, I thought books one and two were decent, but by the time I read The One, it became clear to me that even Cass herself had lost interest in the series… No thank you.

2. Book I Quit: Of Metal and Wishes by Sarah Fine

There are currently 11 books sitting on my DNF shelf on Goodreads, but this had to be the most disappointing of them all. It was hailed as a Phantom of the Opera retelling, and the Phantom of the Opera is possibly one of my favorite books/stories of all time. I just couldn’t get through it. It was boring, I wasn’t connecting with the protagonist, and there was absolutely no heat or passion between her and the Phantom character.

3. Bad Habit I Have to Quit: Comparing all fantasy novels to Sarah J. Maas

I love her books, and that’s great, but I need to remain open to other types of fantasy and epic fantasy.

4. One Question I’d Like to Quit Being Asked: Why do you read young adult novels?

This question is so obnoxious because of all of the assumptions that the person in question is forcing on this entire genre.

5. An Author that I’ve Quit: John Green

6. What I Wish the Publishing Industry Would Quit: Comparing books to other books, movies, or TV shows.

You know what I mean. I hate when a book is hailed as “the next Hunger Games!” or “it’s Game of Thrones meets Cinderella.” No. Just no. Please stop.

7. Continually adding more and more and more books to my TBR list on Goodreads…

Really??

fghfgh

8. I really need to quit judging a book by its cover.

As a librarian, I get sent a box of ARCs each month from our book provider. I know I am probably ignoring a lot of great books simply because I am not attracted to the cover.

9. Bad Habit I Need to Quit: Reading too many books at once.

I notoriously hoard books. So I am always in the middle of at least 6 books… It must stop.

10. Final Bad Habit: Quit projecting my high expectations onto every book I read.

It’s ok to just enjoy a book for what it is. I get too caught up in wanting to read “the next best thing.”

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: It’s OK to be a Quitter

  1. Oh no!! I can’t believe you gave up on Of Metal and Wishes!! I absolutely LOVED that series! I’m actually devastated it’s over! 😦 I totally agree with you on publishers comparing books. I don’t want to be told what this book is like. More often that not, I feel like it sets me up for disappointment.

    Here are my Top Ten!

    Like

Leave a Reply

